Saakshi Nagpal

BAs – Hidden Leaders !

 

Many times we are not in a position of authority yet we have to have some leadership skills for easy going. Working as a Business Analyst (BA) and working closely with large teams I have observed that BAs have to constantly challenge themselves on leading without really leading.
I term this as challenge because generally we don’t have the title to help us put weight in influencing ourselves. We are in the unique position of not having any title in our kitty from a leadership perspective, so we have to be a bit more creative.
We do our absolute level best on capturing the business and functional requirements , analyzing, recommending solutions, utilizing the right tools for creating  a product that in the end returns us customer’s approval with their satisfaction. It sounds simple and interesting but in practical it’s not easy.
We spend hours pondering over the requirements, meeting with customers, documenting, re-documenting, designing architectures, developing use cases (explaining what they are and what they are not), redeveloping them, creating and recreating report layouts.  After that, co-ordinating with the development team, encouraging them to complete the work within the timeframe, and we may have a few updates to the fields on the reports – and that’s ok, we need to be flexible and responsive.
Apart from convincing the developers that the project is doable, then we have to have the business meetings where we have to re-prioritize the already prioritized requirements (due to extended deadlines). We work closely with the business to try and reassure them that everyone on the team is focused on delivering the project on time. We are secretly praying that the team will come through and deliver exactly what is needed by the clients.
This is all we do. WE MOVE MOUNTAINS EVERYDAY !!
Then where does Leadership comes? Leadership comes through the side lines. And you can be creative by acquiring 3 simple qualities and won’t sound bossy.
Listening – It is important , it allows you to think and tailor the message to be send back to sender. Every sort of business communication is sensitive either for the client or for the technical team. Listening properly and responding in an apt way is a crucial skill.
Building relationships – Build healthy relationships with all people at all levels in the organization. You never know when this will come back to serve you well. To lead from the side, it is helpful to have colleagues that will speak to your credibility and work ethic. Don’t underestimate the power of  good relationships.
Motivate – Motivating or Influencing is like a boost to your goal. Give your team the freedom to do what they can do better than you in anyway. Motivate them and don’t yell at them, else, they will be much less inclined to take the initiative when needed.
Don’t poke your nose in order to achieve the best in spite of any situation. Don’t bear the burden of someone else’s ego.
Acquiring these 3 simple skills will help you to continue to grow and mature in your career as well as in person.
Single Post Navigation

21 thoughts on “BAs – Hidden Leaders !

  1. Pingback: 2011 – Monthly Bulletin « saakshinagpal

  2. Pingback: edible easter crafts for kids

  3. Very great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing on your rss feed and I am hoping you write once more very soon!

  4. What’s up, I just wanted to say, you’re wrong. Your article doesn’t make any sense.

  5. Utterly pent content material, appreciate it for entropy. “The last time I saw him he was walking down Lover’s Lane holding his own hand.” by Fred Allen.

  6. Very interesting subject , regards for posting . “Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.” by George Ellis.

  7. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back down the road. Many thanks

  8. I’m having a small problem. I cannot subscribe to your rss feed for some reason. I’m using google reader by the way.

  9. I really like your writing style, superb info, thank you for posting :D. “The superfluous is very necessary.” by Francois Marie Arouet Voltaire.

  10. This website has more than enough good information on it, I check on it every few hours. I wish other sites spent as much time as this one does making information to the point to readers like myself. I recommend this site to all of my facebook friends. This website will make some massive passive profit Im sure.

  11. Hey there! Really good posting! I happen to be a ordinary visitor to your site (somewhat more like addict :P) of this website sadly I had a problem. Im just not at all positive whether it is the right site to question, but youve got no spam comments. I get comments just like watch movies online on a regular basis. May you assist me? Thanks a bunch.

  12. I was reading some of your blog posts on this internet site and I believe this site is very instructive! Keep posting .

  13. Deference to website author , some superb information . “When you cease to dream you cease to live.” by Malcolm Stevenson Forbes.

  14. Heya! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the great work!

  15. thanks, and keep up the great work

  16. Regards for helping out, wonderful information.

  17. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  18. I have learn some just right stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much attempt you set to create any such wonderful informative web site.

  19. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance. I must say that you’ve done a amazing job with this. Additionally, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Safari. Excellent Blog!

Leave a Reply

